WSJM Morning News-10/26/2020

WSJM Morning News-10/26/2020 wsjm-morning-news-10/26/2020

WSJM Morning News-10/26/2020 WSJM News is sponsored by Special-Lite in Decatur & Benton Harbor. There’s a good chance you’ve walked through a special-lite door when you go to a local restaurant, school, store, or plant. In this edition: The Benton Harbor Department of Public Safety is investigating a shooting that occurred overnight on Saturday. Benton […]

Watermark Solarium Event Venue Ready for The Best Party of Your Entire Life

Watermark Solarium Event Venue Ready for The Best Party of Your Entire Life watermark-solarium-event-venue-ready-for-the-best-party-of-your-entire-life

Watermark Brewing has been a popular hit ever since emerging on the scene some four years ago, and it didn’t take long before all sorts of people figured it would be a great place to hold a wedding reception, a major party, or some other type of private event in downtown Stevensville. However, the team […]

$250,000 Grant Awarded To Youth Solutions

$250,000 Grant Awarded To Youth Solutions $250,000-grant-awarded-to-youth-solutions

A donation of $250,000 has been announced for Jobs for Michigan’s Graduates by the Consumers Energy Foundation. Jobs for Michigan’s Graduates is a program run by Youth Solutions. It helps students graduate high school and then seek out job skills through education or employment. Jobs for Michigan’s Graduates Director Kristin Harrington tells WSJM News the […]

Annual Statewide Food Drive Underway

Annual Statewide Food Drive Underway annual-statewide-food-drive-underway

The Michigan Harvest Gathering food drive is underway, this year virtually due to COVID. The annual effort kicked off on Tuesday as the Food Bank Council of Michigan announced a goal of 3 million meals and $330,000 for the drive’s 30th anniversary. The Harvest Gathering normally takes food donations through Michigan Secretary of State offices, […]

Grant To Help Roll Out Broadband In Parts Of SWM

Grant To Help Roll Out Broadband In Parts Of SWM grant-to-help-roll-out-broadband-in-parts-of-swm

Congressman Fred Upton this week announced a $3.3 million federal grant to help roll out high-speed broadband in southwest Michigan. He joined U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue on Wednesday to discuss the grant coming from the ReConnect Program. Perdue said during COVID, it’s all the more important rural areas have broadband. “It’s not a […]

Health Officials Warn About Purple Heroin Death In Van Buren

Health Officials Warn About Purple Heroin Death In Van Buren health-officials-warn-about-purple-heroin-death-in-van-buren

Michigan’s first fatal overdose involving what’s known as purple heroin has been reported in Van Buren County. The Van Buren-Cass District Health Department says it received a report of the death involving Brorphine, a potent synthetic opioid similar to Fentanyl. It was first reported in 2018 and is thought to have a similar potency to […]

Police Investigate Fatal Shooting In Benton Harbor

Police Investigate Fatal Shooting In Benton Harbor police-investigate-fatal-shooting-in-benton-harbor

The Benton Harbor Department of Public Safety is investigating a shooting that occurred overnight on Saturday. It says officers responded to the 500 block of Catalpa on a report of shots fired around 2:30 a.m. They found a 24-year-old man with injuries, and he was Spectrum Health Lakeland hospital in St. Joseph. The victim died […]

Parks Surveys Underway In Van Buren, Cass Counties

Parks Surveys Underway In Van Buren, Cass Counties parks-surveys-underway-in-van-buren,-cass-counties

The Southwest Michigan Planning Commission is helping Van Buren and Cass counties draft their next parks plans, and the public is invited to get involved. Senior planner Marcy Hamilton tells WSJM News surveys are now online seeking the thoughts of residents as the future of their parks is plotted. “Do they want more camping opportunities? […]

Scroll to Top