Category: WSJM

New Scholarships Offered By Niles Scream Park

New Scholarships Offered By Niles Scream Park new-scholarships-offered-by-niles-scream-park

Some new scholarships are being offered by the Niles Scream Park to students at Niles and Brandywine High Schools. The park says it’s awarding three $500 scholarships to Niles graduates and one $500 to a Brandywine graduate. Preference will be given to students pursuing education in the field of business. Other criteria include community service, […]

Police, Reporters Outnumber Protestors At State Capitol

Police, Reporters Outnumber Protestors At State Capitol police,-reporters-outnumber-protestors-at-state-capitol

A few dozen people turned out to the state Capitol today to protest the election of President-elect Joe Biden, but were outnumbered by police and news reporters. One Detroit-area militia called off their participation after learning the Proud Boys would be in attendance. Michigan State Police, the Michigan National Guard, Ingham County Sheriff’s Department and […]

BHAS Board Holds Organizational Meeting

BHAS Board Holds Organizational Meeting bhas-board-holds-organizational-meeting

Dashuna Robinson is the new president of the Benton Harbor Area Schools Board of Education. The body held its first meeting of the year on Tuesday of this past week, selecting its officers for 2021. Robinson started serving on the board in February of last year and now replaces former Trustee Joseph Taylor as the […]

Hartford Area Conservation Project Featured In National Geographic

Hartford Area Conservation Project Featured In National Geographic hartford-area-conservation-project-featured-in-national-geographic

A farm project in the Hartford area is featured in the December edition of National Geographic magazine. Van Buren Conservation District watershed coordinator Erin Fuller tells WSJM News the edition of the magazine focused on threats to the Great Lakes, and included a piece on the district’s use of a Great Lakes Restoration Initiative grant. […]

John Schulian; With Respect 01/17/21

John Schulian; With Respect 01/17/21 john-schulian;-with-respect-01/17/21

John’s guest this week is John Schulian, nationally honored sports writer, awarded best sports columnist nationally twice, who covered all Muhammed Ali’s fights after the Thrilla in Manila. He later expanded his work to Hollywood where he was a screenwriter for famous TV shows, and created such well known series as Xena, Warrior Princess. This […]

SMC Board Gives High Marks To College President

SMC Board Gives High Marks To College President smc-board-gives-high-marks-to-college-president

Southwestern Michigan College President Joe Odenwald has received a positive performance review from the SMC Board of Trustees. During a meeting this past week, the board gave Odenwald what Chair Thomas Jerdon described as an A+. Jerdon said during the COVID pandemic, Odenwald has “managed the institution with tremendous financial responsibility, stewarding the taxpayers’ resources […]

Van Buren County Park Grows By 17 Acres

Van Buren County Park Grows By 17 Acres van-buren-county-park-grows-by-17-acres

A state park in Van Buren County is growing. The Michigan Department of Natural Resources says 17 acres are being added to Van Buren State Park so it now includes the Northpoint Conservation Area located in South Haven Township. Van Buren County Administrator John Faul tells WSJM News the county owns it and has signed […]

LMC Board Gets New President, Names Officer

LMC Board Gets New President, Names Officer lmc-board-gets-new-president,-names-officer

Jeff Curry of Buchanan is the new chair of the Lake Michigan College Board of Trustees. He was appointed to the post this month during the board’s first meeting of the year. LMC says Curry replaces Debra Johnson as chair. He thanked her, saying her expertise and leadership helped LMC to navigate a challenging 2020, […]

Van Buren County Sheriff’s Department Warns About Phone Scam

Van Buren County Sheriff’s Department Warns About Phone Scam van-buren-county-sheriff’s-department-warns-about-phone-scam

Everyone’s being reminded to be cautious when it comes to phone calls from someone seeking money. Michigan State Police out of the Paw Paw post say they have gotten word about a local couple who were scammed out of $12,000 by someone who called them pretending to be their granddaughter. She called them claiming to […]

Scroll to Top