Category: WSJM

Barbara Joyce Smith

Barbara Joyce Smith barbara-joyce-smith

Barbara’s life began November 11, 1948, in Watervliet, Michigan.  She enjoyed being a lifetime area resident in her corner of Michigan.  Barbara worked at Hilltop Grocery in St. Joseph in the meat department for over 30 years right up until they closed.  She then went to work as a receptionist at the YWCA in St. […]

John B. Klassen

John B. Klassen john-b.-klassen

John B. Klassen Jr., 87, of Baroda, passed away on Wednesday, September 23, 2020. He was born on April 3, 1933 in La Porte, IN to John B. Klassen Sr. and Nettie (Thompson) Klassen. John graduated From La Porte high school and received his bachelor degree in mechanical engineering from Purdue University.   On September 10, […]

Irene Leamon

Irene Leamon irene-leamon

Irene Lucille Leamon, age 92 years of Niles, Michigan, mother, grand -, great-, and great-great-grandmother, scout leader, traveler, and cheesecake artist died peacefully at 7:05 p.m. on Tuesday, September 22, 2020 at Brentwood Assisted Living in Niles following a brief illness. She was born on September 2, 1928 in Niles to Cleveland D. and Margaret […]

Area Home Sales In August Set Price Records

Area Home Sales In August Set Price Records area-home-sales-in-august-set-price-records

Existing home sales are continuing their frantic pace that the Southwestern Michigan Association of Realtors says started in June. The number of homes sold has set a new record for August at 455, easily beating the 2017 record of 418 and up by 15% from last year. Homebuyers are still struggling to snag something as […]

Dick Kendall

Dick Kendall dick-kendall

Richard “Dick” Kendall, 71, of Niles, Michigan passed away unexpectedly but of natural causes Tuesday, September 23, 2020 at his home. In Benton Harbor, Michigan on April 23, 1949, Donald and Irene Kendall welcomed Dick and his twin brother Donald into this world. After graduating from Brandywine High School in 1966, Dick went on to […]

Sally Ruth Kimmey

Sally Ruth Kimmey sally-ruth-kimmey

Sally Alexander-Kimmey, 83, of Dowagiac, passed away at her home with her family by her side on Tuesday, September 22, 2020. She was born on October 17, 1936, in Adamsville, Tennessee, to the late John and Josie (Hill) Elam. She was one of twelve children in the Elam family. December 7, 1951, Sally married Billy […]

Jeannette Caroline Gaul

Jeannette Caroline Gaul jeannette-caroline-gaul

Jeannette Caroline Gaul, 88 of Bridgman passed away on Thursday, September 24, 2020  at her home in the care of her family. Funeral Services will be held 11:00 AM Tuesday, September 29, 2020 at Immanuel Lutheran Church, 9650 Church Street, Bridgman with Reverend Edward A. Meyer, officiating. Friends may meet with the family on Tuesday […]

Thomas Steve Pitts

Thomas Steve Pitts thomas-steve-pitts

Thomas Steve Pitts III, 87 passed away on Wednesday, September 23, 2020 at his home in the care of his family. Tom was born September 1, 1933 in Portsmouth, Ohio to Thomas Steve Pitts II and Lena Jenkins. He served in the US Army from 1950 through to 1953 and saw combat in North Korea […]

Thomas James Kenny

Thomas James Kenny thomas-james-kenny

Thomas “Tom” James Kenny, 83 of Stevensville, passed away on Sunday, September 20, 2020 at Hanson Hospice Center. Ashes will be laid to rest during a funeral mass for the immediate family on Monday, September 28, 2020 at Our Lady Queen of Peace in Bridgman with Fr. Arthur Howard presiding over the ceremony. Final resting […]

Scroll to Top