Category: WSJM

State Adds 2,100 COVID Cases For Thursday

State Adds 2,100 COVID Cases For Thursday state-adds-2,100-covid-cases-for-thursday

Michigan has reported 2,165 additional cases of COVID-19 for Thursday. The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services coronavirus website shows the state has reported a total of more than 544,000 cases of COVID. It recorded 148 additional deaths for Wednesday, 128 of which were identified through a review of vital records. The state’s death […]

Commissioners Share COVID Vaccination Experiences

Commissioners Share COVID Vaccination Experiences commissioners-share-covid-vaccination-experiences

Some Berrien County Commissioners have received the COVID-19 vaccine, and during a Thursday meeting they shared their stories. In response to an inquiry from a member of the public regarding side effects, Chair Mac Elliott said he got his first jab and had arm soreness for the rest of the day. It was gone the […]

Sheriff’s Deputy Rescues Dog From Freezing Water

Sheriff’s Deputy Rescues Dog From Freezing Water sheriff’s-deputy-rescues-dog-from-freezing-water

A deputy with the Cass County Sheriff’s Department is being credited with saving a dog that fell through ice in a pond. The department says Deputy Taryn Shields responded to the 56,000 block of White Temple Road in Penn Township on Wednesday after a call came in about a dog that had fallen through some […]

More Than One Million Getting Health Coverage Through The Marketplace Or Healthy Michigan Plan

More Than One Million Getting Health Coverage Through The Marketplace Or Healthy Michigan Plan more-than-one-million-getting-health-coverage-through-the-marketplace-or-healthy-michigan-plan

More than one million Michigan residents signed up for health insurance through the Health Insurance Marketplace or the Healthy Michigan Plan for 2021. That’s according to the administration of Governor Gretchen Whitmer. The administration has released the following: After an extensive joint outreach campaign by the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS) and the Michigan Department of […]

U.S. Attorney In Detroit Resigns

U.S. Attorney In Detroit Resigns us.-attorney-in-detroit-resigns

The U.S. Attorney in Detroit has resigned. Matthew Schneider submitted his resignation to President Biden yesterday afternoon. His last day will be February 1st, and he’ll then join a private law firm based in Detroit. As he prepares to depart, Schneider says law enforcement continues to need to rebuild trust with the community. “We can […]

Wednzel Receives Committee Assignments

Wednzel Receives Committee Assignments wednzel-receives-committee-assignments

State Representative Pauline Wendzel has received her committee assignments for the new legislative session. Her office has released the following: State Rep. Pauline Wendzel has been named to four committees for her second term in the Michigan House of Representatives. Rep. Wendzel will serve on the powerful new Michigan Rules and Competitiveness Committee and retain […]

Michigan Jobless Rate Increases In December

Michigan Jobless Rate Increases In December michigan-jobless-rate-increases-in-december

The unemployment rate in Michigan went up in December. The Michigan Department of Technology, Management and Budget has released the following: Michigan’s seasonally adjusted unemployment rate rose by five-tenths of a percentage point in December to 7.5 percent, according to data released today by the Michigan Department of Technology, Management & Budget. Total employment fell […]

Scroll to Top