Category: WSJM

Attorney General Focuses On Enforcement Of Emergency Orders At Nursing Homes

Attorney General Focuses On Enforcement Of Emergency Orders At Nursing Homes attorney-general-focuses-on-enforcement-of-emergency-orders-at-nursing-homes

The COVID-19 death toll in Michigan’s long-term care facilities has reached 2,000. Following an the governor’s executive order to ensure safety within them, Attorney General Dana Nessel’s office is ramping up enforcement efforts. “Working in coordination with the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs and Health and Human Services, my office’s healthcare fraud division has […]

Secretary Of State Seeks Election Law Reforms

Secretary Of State Seeks Election Law Reforms secretary-of-state-seeks-election-law-reforms

About 10,000 votes mailed in for the Tuesday primary in Michigan didn’t count, even though they were postmarked before the election. That’s according to Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson. She’s calling for changes to the state’s election law. “Those were valid ballots,” Benson told Michigan News Network. “They voted on time and submitted on time, […]

With Respect – 8/8/2020 – Kieran Conway Pt 1 of 2

With Respect – 8/8/2020 – Kieran Conway Pt 1 of 2 with-respect-–-8/8/2020-–-kieran-conway-pt-1-of-2

John’s guest this week is Kieran Conway, a native of Ireland who literally has been all around the world doing fascinating things. From his beginnings over a bar in County Kilkenny, he moved to University, thence to a member of the world champion Rugby team, through a ghastly injury to his learning his hidden skill […]

State Extends Increased Food Benefits For Rest Of August

State Extends Increased Food Benefits For Rest Of August state-extends-increased-food-benefits-for-rest-of-august

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services has announced expanded food benefits made available to eligible Michigan residents when the pandemic started will continue through all of August. Spokesperson Bob Wheaton tells WSJM News the agency has eliminated income limits for those already receiving SNAP benefits. “There is additional amounts of food assistance every […]

South Haven Taking Input On Playground Improvements

South Haven Taking Input On Playground Improvements south-haven-taking-input-on-playground-improvements

Public comment is still being taken by the city of South Haven on its plans to improve the Kids Corner Playground and the restrooms at South Beach. The city this week held a public visioning session to get the thoughts of residents. South Haven Public Works Director Bill Hunter told WSJM News the city got […]

Volunteers Paint Black Lives Matter Street Mural In Benton Harbor

Volunteers Paint Black Lives Matter Street Mural In Benton Harbor volunteers-paint-black-lives-matter-street-mural-in-benton-harbor

Now in front of Benton Harbor High School on Colfax Avenue is a Black Lives Matter street mural. Volunteers painted it on Saturday morning with organizer and citizen activist Trenton Bowens telling WSJM News it was great to see the community come together. “We made one statement that Black lives matter,” Bowens said. “We’re living […]

Van Buren Road Commission To Do Herbicide Spraying

Van Buren Road Commission To Do Herbicide Spraying van-buren-road-commission-to-do-herbicide-spraying

The Van Buren County Road Commission will be spraying herbicides along roads this fall. It says it’s hired The Daltons out of North Webster, Indiana to perform custom chemical vegetation control services along the road right-of-way on various roadways throughout Van Buren County. The spraying will start on September 8 and should be finished by […]

Benton Harbor Steak n Shake Up For Auction

Benton Harbor Steak n Shake Up For Auction benton-harbor-steak-n-shake-up-for-auction

The fast food chain Steak n Shake has announced it will auction off 15 of its locations in August, including the Steak n Shake in Benton Harbor. In all, three locations in Michigan will be up for grabs for minimum bids of $367,000 each. The Benton Harbor Steak n Shake closed last year, along with […]

United Way Consolidating Paw Paw Office Into St. Joe Office

United Way Consolidating Paw Paw Office Into St. Joe Office united-way-consolidating-paw-paw-office-into-st.-joe-office

The United Way of Southwest Michigan is closing its office in Paw Paw. Spokesperson Jennifer Tomshack tells us the group has kept the Paw Paw office open since it merged with the United Way of Van Buren County. Closing the office in Paw Paw has been part of the plan since the merger last summer. […]

Scroll to Top