Category: Moody on the Market

No Change for Michigan Jobless Rate in August

No Change for Michigan Jobless Rate in August no-change-for-michigan-jobless-rate-in-august

While laid-off workers continued to be recalled to duty in August, the pace of that recall has slowed somewhat. That’s the word today from the Michigan Department of Technology, Management & Budget, as they deliver the current unemployment data over the past month. They report that Michigan’s seasonally adjusted unemployment rate was essentially unchanged over […]

Hard Rock Cafe New Buffalo Being Replaced by Kankakee Grille

Hard Rock Cafe New Buffalo Being Replaced by Kankakee Grille hard-rock-cafe-new-buffalo-being-replaced-by-kankakee-grille

If you’re a Hard Rock Cafe fan at the Four Winds Casino in New Buffalo, you have from now through Halloween to make a visit, because the cafe is going away with plans to replace it with the popular Kankakee Grille brand from South Bend. The Pokagon Band of Potawatomi and its Four Winds Casinos […]

“Topsy-Turvy” August Delivers Retail Sales Growth as Recovery Continues

“Topsy-Turvy” August Delivers Retail Sales Growth as Recovery Continues “topsy-turvy”-august-delivers-retail-sales-growth-as-recovery-continues

Calling it a “topsy-turvy” month “as COVID-19 brought a lot of shifts and uncertainty,” the National Retail Federation’s Chief Economist says, nevertheless, “Consumer spending remains intact, even if sales grew less than in July.” That’s the quick assessment from Chief Economist Jack Kleinhenz, as retail sales continued to recover from the coronavirus pandemic in August, […]

Meet Karla Grady-Walker, MI Works! “Shining Star” Award Winner

Meet Karla Grady-Walker, MI Works! “Shining Star” Award Winner meet-karla-grady-walker,-mi-works!-“shining-star”-award-winner

Her colleagues and clients already know her to be a tremendous asset to the workforce development system across Michigan’s Great Southwest, but now that fact has been validated by the Michigan Works! Association statewide, as Karla Grady-Walker of Berrien, Cass, Van Buren Michigan Works! has been awarded a “Shining Star” Award by the state association for […]

MI Treasury Warns of Home Heating Credit Application Deadline

MI Treasury Warns of Home Heating Credit Application Deadline mi-treasury-warns-of-home-heating-credit-application-deadline

If you qualify for it, and want to make sure that you have the best chance to get it, time is running out on the application process for the Michigan Home Heating Credit as we race toward cooler weather. The Michigan Department of Treasury says that all applications for the credit must be received by […]

MI Manufacturers Assoc Honors Legislative Leaders

MI Manufacturers Assoc Honors Legislative Leaders mi-manufacturers-assoc-honors-legislative-leaders

It was not the customary Legislative Day in Lansing that most associations have grown accustomed to, but they essentially got the job done just the same Tuesday when the Michigan Manufacturers Association headed with state leaders to the newly renamed Jackson Field in Lansing to recognize the 2020 recipients of the association’s Legislator of the […]

Scroll to Top