Category: Moody on the Market

Michigan Joins Coalition in Federal Lawsuit Protecting Those Who Work For Tips

Michigan Joins Coalition in Federal Lawsuit Protecting Those Who Work For Tips michigan-joins-coalition-in-federal-lawsuit-protecting-those-who-work-for-tips

If you work for tips at your job, you might be interested in the fact that Michigan has joined a coalition to stop a last-ditch effort by the outgoing Trump administration that would allow your employer to withhold tips from you. Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel joined a coalition of attorneys general in filing a […]

State Rep. Pauline Wendzel Draws Legislative Committee Assignments for 2021

State Rep. Pauline Wendzel Draws Legislative Committee Assignments for 2021 state-rep.-pauline-wendzel-draws-legislative-committee-assignments-for-2021

As she advances to her second term in the Michigan House of Representatives, Watervliet State Representative Pauline Wendzel has drawn four committee assignments for the new legislative year. Wendzel will serve on the powerful new Michigan Rules and Competitiveness Committee and retain her position on the Regulatory Reform Committee.  Rep. Wendzel will also serve on […]

Andrews University Students Help Revitalize Buchanan: “The Nicest Place in America”

Andrews University Students Help Revitalize Buchanan: “The Nicest Place in America” andrews-university-students-help-revitalize-buchanan:-“the-nicest-place-in-america”

While Buchanan, Michigan right here in Berrien County may have been named “The Nicest Place in America 2020” by Reader’s Digest last year, there’s always room for improvement and students engaged in the Andrews University Urban Design Studio are ready to help make that happen. The Andrews University Urban Design Studio led by Professor Andrew […]

Berrien County Health Dept Updates Vaccine Situation, Encourages Patience

Berrien County Health Dept Updates Vaccine Situation, Encourages Patience berrien-county-health-dept-updates-vaccine-situation,-encourages-patience

The  Berrien County Health Department, which has been doing a spectacular job of administering the COVID-19 vaccination to thousands of residents across Michigan’s Great Southwest is joining the team at Spectrum Health Lakeland in updating the community on the status of the process today, while encouraging everyone to please be patient with the process. Both […]

Upton Tapped as Republican Leader on House Energy Subcommittee

Upton Tapped as Republican Leader on House Energy Subcommittee upton-tapped-as-republican-leader-on-house-energy-subcommittee

Congressman Fred Upton gained a major role in the U.S. House of Representatives today when he was named as the powerful House Energy Subcommittee’s Republican Leader by the Energy & Commerce Republican Leader Cathy McMorris Rodgers. Upton issued the following statement regarding that appointment: “As the Republican leader on the Energy Subcommittee for the 117th […]

Four Winds Casino Agreement Sends $860,000 to South Bend

Four Winds Casino Agreement Sends $860,000 to South Bend four-winds-casino-agreement-sends-$860,000-to-south-bend

For the third consecutive year since debuting their Four Winds South Bend Casino, the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi has provided funds totaling $860,000 to the City of South Bend and several area non-profits to assist with their operations and programs. This annual contribution marks year three of a five-year voluntary local agreement between the Pokagon […]

Disability Network SW MI Offers Live, Interactive, On-Line Community Ed

Disability Network SW MI Offers Live, Interactive, On-Line Community Ed disability-network-sw-mi-offers-live,-interactive,-on-line-community-ed

Just because you are housebound either by weather, by pandemic, by choice or by happenstance, doesn’t mean you can’t continue to learn key things to advance your lifestyle. The team at Disability Network Southwest Michigan is continuing to serve customers during the coronavirus pandemic, through a series of Community Education events that will continue to be […]

SNAP Food Assistance in MI Increasing by 15-Percent Through June

SNAP Food Assistance in MI Increasing by 15-Percent Through June snap-food-assistance-in-mi-increasing-by-15-percent-through-june

Families dealing with hunger issues and working continually to keep food on the dinner table will get a boost in the first half of the New Year according to an announcement today from Gov. Gretchen Whitmer and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. As a result, the more than 1.2 million people in […]

$1-M Grant Helps MI Works Provide Jail Transition Assist Through Second Chance Program

$1-M Grant Helps MI Works Provide Jail Transition Assist Through Second Chance Program $1-m-grant-helps-mi-works-provide-jail-transition-assist-through-second-chance-program

Citizens returning to their community following completion of a jail sentence will get help going forward from a new Michigan Works! Second Chance Program for re-assimilation assistance. The team at Michigan Works! announced today that they are done with the planning phase of a $1 million grant and are beginning to provide comprehensive services to returning […]

Argument Leads to Gunfire at Benton Township Pilot Travel Center

Argument Leads to Gunfire at Benton Township Pilot Travel Center argument-leads-to-gunfire-at-benton-township-pilot-travel-center

An argument turned into gunfire Tuesday at the Pilot Travel Center on Napier Avenue at I-94 in Benton Charter Township, but fortunately nobody was hit in the incident. Nevertheless, police are asking for help in following up on the case. Benton Township Detective Sgt. Tyler Tiefenbach says his department was called out to the popular […]

Scroll to Top