Category: Moody on the Market

Whitmer & Stabenow Excoriate President Trump’s Executive Actions on COVID

Whitmer & Stabenow Excoriate President Trump’s Executive Actions on COVID whitmer-&-stabenow-excoriate-president-trump’s-executive-actions-on-covid

Following President Trump’s decision on Saturday to take things into his own hands through announced executive actions related to the coronavirus pandemic, both Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer and U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow are excoriating him for “playing cruel political games” with the American public and say his actions will not help the people of Michigan. […]

Benton Harbor Steak ‘n Shake One of 15 to be Auctioned Next Month

Benton Harbor Steak ‘n Shake One of 15 to be Auctioned Next Month benton-harbor-steak-‘n-shake-one-of-15-to-be-auctioned-next-month

Steak ‘n Shake fans in Michigan’s Great Southwest might still be able to “takhomasak” (their slogan for Take Home a Sack) from the Pipestone Road restaurant some day, as the restaurant hits the auction block along with 14 other corporate owned sites across the country. When Steak ‘n Shake closed down dozens of restaurants across […]

Governor Extends Emergency Declaration Through September 4th

Governor Extends Emergency Declaration Through September 4th governor-extends-emergency-declaration-through-september-4th

Calling this a “crucial time in our fight against Covid-19,” Gov. Gretchen Whitmer has extended Michigan’s Declaration of Emergency through the 4th of September at midnight. As Michigan residents across the state continue working to protect themselves and their families from the spread of the coronavirus, the governor today took swift action by signing a […]

Whitmer Issues Exec Order Protecting from Benefit Lapse for Unemployed

Whitmer Issues Exec Order Protecting from Benefit Lapse for Unemployed whitmer-issues-exec-order-protecting-from-benefit-lapse-for-unemployed

Since day one of the pandemic, Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer has strongly encouraged anyone who is sick to stay home, and now she’s reinforcing that advice by taking action through a new Executive Order to protect Michigan workers who might have been impacted when the federal government allowed unemployment benefits to lapse. Today, the governor […]

Veggie Van Paying a Visit to Benton Harbor This Month

Veggie Van Paying a Visit to Benton Harbor This Month veggie-van-paying-a-visit-to-benton-harbor-this-month

Families in the Benton Harbor neighborhood who find themselves with limited access to fresh produce in Michigan’s Great Southwest are invited to hit up The Veggie Van, making a special visit to the community on Thursday afternoon, August 20th. The Veggie Van, a mobile farmer’s market featuring locally grown, top-quality fruits and vegetables, will offer […]

MI Food Assistance Extended Through August for 350,000 Families

MI Food Assistance Extended Through August for 350,000 Families mi-food-assistance-extended-through-august-for-350,000-families

With the pandemic still wreaking havoc on many individual family budgets, Michigan’s Department of Health & Human Services has extended additional food service for some 350,000 Michigan families through the end of August. The department announced this morning that approximately 350,000 Michigan families will continue to have access to those additional food assistance benefits during […]

SW Michigan Planning Commission Getting $400K in CARES Act Grant

SW Michigan Planning Commission Getting $400K in CARES Act Grant sw-michigan-planning-commission-getting-$400k-in-cares-act-grant

The Benton Harbor-based metropolitan planning agency for our region, the Southwestern Michigan Planning Commission is getting $400,000 in CARES Act Recovery Assistance grant money according to a dispatch from the U.S. Secretary of Commerce. The money, part of a total of $3.8-million being split among 10 EDA Economic Development Districts in the state, will be […]

Gov. Whitmer Orders Face Masks for All Child-Care Centers & Camps

Gov. Whitmer Orders Face Masks for All Child-Care Centers & Camps gov.-whitmer-orders-face-masks-for-all-child-care-centers-&-camps

Michigan’s Governor is doubling down again on face mask mandates with a new Executive Order requiring masks at child-care centers and camps. Today, Governor Whitmer signed Executive Order 2020-164 which requires face coverings to be worn in all child-care centers and camps. Saying that Michigan has seen COVID-19 outbreaks at these locations, adding to the […]

West MI Industrial Economy Emerges From “Gut-Wrenching Decline”

West MI Industrial Economy Emerges From “Gut-Wrenching Decline” west-mi-industrial-economy-emerges-from-“gut-wrenching-decline”

Following four months of gut-wrenching decline, the West Michigan Industrial Economy has returned to positive territory — at least for now. That’s the opening salvo of Dr. Brian Long’s always-anticipated monthly snapshot resulting from in depth surveys conducted every month in the manufacturing sector. Professor Long, who serves as Director of Supply Chain Management Research […]

Michigan Voters Establish Record-Breaking Primary Turnout

Michigan Voters Establish Record-Breaking Primary Turnout michigan-voters-establish-record-breaking-primary-turnout

If you have your “I Voted” sticker still handy from Tuesday’s Primary and are a collector of such things you might like to know you were part of a new record-breaking turnout for an August Primary election in the state, as the focus now turns to the major fall election process. Michigan’s Secretary of State […]

Scroll to Top