Dan Seibert

MI Works Office Coming To Cassopolis

MI Works Office Coming To Cassopolis mi-works-office-coming-to-cassopolis

Michigan Works has announced it’s opening a new office in Cass County. It says the pandemic has shown that the agency needs to be adaptable, get creative, and adjust the way it does business. The new office inside the Cass County Administration Building in Cassopolis is intended to bring more programs to the area and […]

Humane Society SW Michigan Director Abruptly Resigns, Shelter Will Close for One Week

Humane Society SW Michigan Director Abruptly Resigns, Shelter Will Close for One Week humane-society-sw-michigan-director-abruptly-resigns,-shelter-will-close-for-one-week

Following the sudden resignation of long-time Director Jill Svoboda and technical difficulties with telephone message servicing, the Humane Society of Southwestern Michigan’s Yeager Family Pet Shelter will be temporarily closed to the public for a week beginning Wednesday, March 3rd. Board Chair Ron Klemm issued a statement this afternoon addressing the departure of Svoboda who […]

SHAES To Offer Cadet Program

SHAES To Offer Cadet Program shaes-to-offer-cadet-program

South Haven Area Emergency Services is launching a cadet program to introduce participants to the firefighting and emergency medical service professions. Director Brandon Hinz tells WSJM News they’re excited to be able to offer the learning opportunity to people in the area. Anyone 16 years of age and up will be welcomed. “They can come […]

LaSata Planning Southwest Michigan Spirit Tournament

LaSata Planning Southwest Michigan Spirit Tournament lasata-planning-southwest-michigan-spirit-tournament

State Senator Kim LaSata is launching another Southwest Michigan Spirit Tournament. It’s an annual bracket-style competition for school districts in southwest Michigan to show their pride. Starting on March 1, 31 area high schools eligible for the tournament will be divided into four brackets, like in the NCAA Division 1 men’s basketball tournament. The schools […]

Thousands Of Michigan Students Could Be Eligible For College Incentive Program

Thousands Of Michigan Students Could Be Eligible For College Incentive Program thousands-of-michigan-students-could-be-eligible-for-college-incentive-program

As many as 100,000 low-income Michiganders could be eligible for the state’s Tuition Incentive Program, or “TIP,” but are not enrolled because of outreach or operational hurdles. Catherine Brown is senior adviser to and co-author of a new report from the Institute for College Access & Success and the Century Foundation – which calls TIP […]

Alex Rassogianis; With Respect 02/28/21

Alex Rassogianis; With Respect 02/28/21 alex-rassogianis;-with-respect-02/28/21

John’s guest this week is Alex Rassogianis, the author of a book about his growing up in the Glenlord area of Lincoln Township, Berrien County, Michigan. They recollect the various ethnic and cultural groups that blended together for many years, and how this kind of togetherness molded he and his friends and family. It is […]

Strong Interest In New State Tuition Program

Strong Interest In New State Tuition Program strong-interest-in-new-state-tuition-program

The new Michigan Reconnect program is leading to new enrollments at Lake Michigan College. Reconnect Michigan will pay the tuition for an associate degree or trade certificate for any Michigan high school graduate age 25 or older who does not have a degree. LMC Director of Admissions Jeremy Schaeffer tells WSJM News the summer numbers […]

County Seeks Loosening Of Rules For Restaurants

County Seeks Loosening Of Rules For Restaurants county-seeks-loosening-of-rules-for-restaurants

The Berrien County Board of Commissioners has approved a resolution calling on Governor Gretchen Whitmer to implement a new, regional approach to restrictions to fight COVID-19. During Thursday’s meeting, Board Chair Mac Elliott said restaurants are hurting too much and it’s been going on for too long at a time when COVID cases are down. […]

Market Van Buren Enters Partnership With MEDC

Market Van Buren Enters Partnership With MEDC market-van-buren-enters-partnership-with-medc

Market Van Buren has announced it’s formed a new partnership with the Michigan Economic Development Corporation. Director Zach Morris tells WSJM News the two will formally be working together to spur economic development in Van Buren and Cass counties. “This is to help with the process of driving in resources locally, but also for Market […]

LaSata Hosting Reading Challenge For March

LaSata Hosting Reading Challenge For March lasata-hosting-reading-challenge-for-march

A reading challenge has been announced by state Senator Kim LaSata for March is Reading Month. Her office says all students in grades K through eight in Berrien, Cass, and St. Joseph counties are invited to submit lists of the books they read during the month. The student who reads the most will be invited […]

Scroll to Top