Month: December 2020

Police Lose Drunk Driving Case At Michigan’s Top Court

Police Lose Drunk Driving Case At Michigan’s Top Court police-lose-drunk-driving-case-at-michigan’s-top-court

From the Associated Press — A long-running dispute over a speed limit is over after Michigan’s highest court sided with the driver and threw out evidence of drunk driving. The Supreme Court says it will let an appeals court decision stand in favor of the driver. Anthony Owen was accused of drunk driving in Ionia […]

Test Planned For Emergency Notification System Friday

Test Planned For Emergency Notification System Friday test-planned-for-emergency-notification-system-friday

A test of the Emergency Notification System will be performed on Friday. The emergency notification systems IPAWs and B-Warn will be tested between 3 p.m. and 4 p.m. Those who are signed up for the service will get a notification on their mobile phones. The testing of the system is to continue on the first […]

Pandemic Terminology Tops Lake Super State’s Banished Words List for 2021

Pandemic Terminology Tops Lake Super State’s Banished Words List for 2021 pandemic-terminology-tops-lake-super-state’s-banished-words-list-for-2021

Anybody who has paid close attention to seemingly anything since mid-March will be nodding their heads in mass approval and concurrence with the latest annual Banished Words List from the crew at Lake Superior State University, because we’re all fed up with all of them and then some. Coinciding with the vaccination roll outs taking […]

Michigan Electoral Votes Expected To Be Challenged In Congress

Michigan Electoral Votes Expected To Be Challenged In Congress michigan-electoral-votes-expected-to-be-challenged-in-congress

It appears the drama over Michigan’s presidential election results will carry over into 2021. A group of House Republicans and Sen. Josh Hawley, R-Mo., have said they plan to challenge the Electoral College votes from key battleground states on Jan. 6, when Congress meets to validate the results in a joint session. Robert Yoon, a […]

Sheriff’s Deputy Saves Woman From Burning Home

Sheriff’s Deputy Saves Woman From Burning Home sheriff’s-deputy-saves-woman-from-burning-home

A 72-year-old New Buffalo woman is safe after being pulled from her burning home by a deputy with the Berrien County Sheriff’s Department. The department says dispatch got a call from the homeowner in the early morning hours of Thursday. The home in the 1400 block of West Water Street was on fire, but the […]

Whitmer Releases Video Reflecting On 2020

Whitmer Releases Video Reflecting On 2020 whitmer-releases-video-reflecting-on-2020

Governor Gretchen Whitmer has released a video reflecting on 2021 and looking ahead to 2021. The video is below. The governor’s office has released the following: Today, Governor Gretchen Whitmer released a video on social media reflecting on the unprecedented events and accomplishments of 2020. Throughout 2020 the governor has remained focused on her top priorities: protecting public health, creating paths to good jobs and […]

Allegan County Health Department Begins Vaccination Effort

Allegan County Health Department Begins Vaccination Effort allegan-county-health-department-begins-vaccination-effort

The Allegan County Health Department is preparing for the wide rollout of the COVID-19 vaccine. The department has released the following: Allegan County Health Department (ACHD) staff who will be vaccinating other individuals and supporting upcoming vaccine clinics received their first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine this week. Pictures of staff receiving their vaccination are […]

Scroll to Top