Month: August 2020

Update: Missing Cow Statue Retrieved

Update: Missing Cow Statue Retrieved update:-missing-cow-statue-retrieved

A popular statue of a blue cow has been found after it was stolen overnight Monday in South Haven. Sherman’s Dairy Bar reported on social media Monday that Blue Moo, the blue cow that stands outside of its location, was knocked over and damaged. Worse, Blue Moo’s companion, Baby Moo, was stolen. Later on Monday […]

They Had ‘Dreams And Plans’: Detroit Honors COVID-19 Victims

They Had ‘Dreams And Plans’: Detroit Honors COVID-19 Victims they-had-‘dreams-and-plans’:-detroit-honors-covid-19-victims

From the Associated Press — The city of Detroit has turned an island park into an extraordinary memorial garden for victims of COVID-19. Cars packed with families Monday passed hundreds of photos of Detroit residents who died from the virus. Hearses led solemn all-day processions around Belle Isle Park in the Detroit River after bells […]

United Way Of Southwest Launching Voter Registration Campaign

United Way Of Southwest Launching Voter Registration Campaign united-way-of-southwest-launching-voter-registration-campaign

The United Way of Southwest Michigan is launching a voter registration campaign. Spokesperson Jennifer Tomshack tells WSJM News with September 22 being National Voter Registration Day, it’s spending all of the month helping people get signed up to vote. “We’re going to be reaching out to people, mostly via digital marketing, but also through traditional […]

Report Makes Campaign Recommendations For Rural Areas

Report Makes Campaign Recommendations For Rural Areas report-makes-campaign-recommendations-for-rural-areas

There’s a new blueprint for how candidates in 2020 might be able to sway rural voters from Michigan and other states. People’s Action, a coalition of grassroots organizations, has released a “Rural Relief, Recovery and Reimagination Agenda.” Shawn Sebastian with People’s Action says it’s a vision of how investments in healthcare, housing, clean energy and […]

Got Something to Say – Bridge Academy 8/27/20

Got Something to Say – Bridge Academy 8/27/20 got-something-to-say-–-bridge-academy-8/27/20

Got Something to Say is brought to you by United Federal Credit Union – We Get U! Jonny had a chance to talk with Val Owen the Academic Services Manager at The Bridge Academy and now is the right time for adults to continue their education or get their GED to help them advance in […]

Berrien RESA To Provide 18,500 Masks To Local Schools

Berrien RESA To Provide 18,500 Masks To Local Schools berrien-resa-to-provide-18,500-masks-to-local-schools

Berrien RESA is going to provide school districts throughout the county with personal protective equipment. RESA Superintendent Eric Hoppstock tells WSJM News the Governor’s Mask Up campaign is working with ISDs to get masks out to students. “The state realized they had all of this personal protective equipment that they had amassed over the last […]

Sidelined? 3 High School Sports Await Whitmer’s Final Ruling

Sidelined? 3 High School Sports Await Whitmer’s Final Ruling sidelined?-3-high-school-sports-await-whitmer’s-final-ruling

From the Associated Press — The leader of the Michigan High School Athletic Association says the decision rests with Governor Gretchen Whitmer on whether there are soccer games, volleyball matches, and swimming and diving meets this fall. Mark Uyl said Monday that while the governor’s school reopening road map allows for competition during the coronavirus […]

Data Breach Reported By Spectrum Health Lakeland

Data Breach Reported By Spectrum Health Lakeland data-breach-reported-by-spectrum-health-lakeland

Spectrum Health Lakeland is warning about a data breach that has affected part of the organization. It says the global breach involved Blackbaud, Incorporated, which hosts data for the Spectrum Health Lakeland Foundation. Blackbaud was the victim of a ransomware attack that was discovered and ended in May of this year. Spectrum Health Lakeland says […]

Scroll to Top