Month: July 2020

Upton Hails Passage Of National Parks Legislation

Upton Hails Passage Of National Parks Legislation upton-hails-passage-of-national-parks-legislation

Congressman Fred Upton says national parks in the United States will get a much-needed funding boost thanks to legislation approved by the House and Senate. He tells WSJM News the Great American Outdoors Act will mean permanent funding for the Land and Water Conservation Fund at a level of $900 million every year for maintenance […]

Got Something to Say – Humane Society of Southwest Michigan – 7/31/20

Got Something to Say – Humane Society of Southwest Michigan – 7/31/20 got-something-to-say-–-humane-society-of-southwest-michigan-–-7/31/20

Got Something to Say is brought to you by United Federal Credit Union – We Get U! Xay from the Humane Society of Southwest Michigan joins Jonny to talk about The 1st Annual Run, Walk, Bike, Hike, Skate & Paddle Fundraiser to help support the shelter. You can also support them by making donations as […]

I&M To Start Aerial Line Inspections Next Week

I&M To Start Aerial Line Inspections Next Week i&m-to-start-aerial-line-inspections-next-week

Indiana Michigan Power will begin aerial inspections of its power lines and poles starting next week. Spokesperson Tracy Warner spoke with WSJM News. “We’ll have a helicopter that’s red and white, and it will be flying around transmission lines and towers and poles,” Warner said. “It may be flying pretty low, just 50 to 100 […]

Prosecutor, Children’s Advocacy Center Warn About Child Abuse Reporting During Pandemic

Prosecutor, Children’s Advocacy Center Warn About Child Abuse Reporting During Pandemic prosecutor,-children’s-advocacy-center-warn-about-child-abuse-reporting-during-pandemic

The Berrien County Prosecutor’s Office and the Children’s Advocacy Center of Southwest Michigan are sounding the alarm about child abuse cases during the COVID-19 pandemic. The center’s Allie Kibler-Campbell tells WSJM News there has been a substantial decrease in reports of child abuse since the pandemic started and schools closed. “The biggest reason is probably […]

Meeting On US-31 Completion Project Set For August 10

Meeting On US-31 Completion Project Set For August 10 meeting-on-us-31-completion-project-set-for-august-10

A meeting will be held in August for Berrien County residents to learn about a major Michigan Department of Transportation project that’s about to start. MDOT spokesperson Nick Schirripa tells WSJM News they’re going to get started this summer on the completion of US-31 to I-94. This multi-year project will involve a lot. “To rebuild […]

734 Additional Cases Of COVID-19 Reported For Michigan On Friday

734 Additional Cases Of COVID-19 Reported For Michigan On Friday 734-additional-cases-of-covid-19-reported-for-michigan-on-friday

Michigan is reporting 734 additional cases of COVID-19 for Friday. The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services says the state has had 81,621 cases of the illness since the start of the pandemic. It reported eight additional deaths for Friday, making that total 6,199. Berrien County reported five additional cases of the illness for […]

“See St. Joseph” Up Close From Your Couch Anywhere in the World

“See St. Joseph” Up Close From Your Couch Anywhere in the World “see-st.-joseph”-up-close-from-your-couch-anywhere-in-the-world

Working diligently to keep the business community in and around St. Joseph on the minds and in the thoughts of residents and tourists alike, the Southwest Michigan Regional Chamber and St. Joseph Today have teamed up with the City of St. Joseph to showcase the community like never before, allowing all of us to visit […]

Secretary Of State Warns About Delayed Results Next Week

Secretary Of State Warns About Delayed Results Next Week secretary-of-state-warns-about-delayed-results-next-week

From the Associated Press — Michigan’s secretary of state says a sharp increase in the number of people voting by mail because of the pandemic could slow vote counting in the August primary and November general election. Jocelyn Benson said Wednesday that nearly 2 million registered voters have requested a mail-in ballot for the August […]

Scroll to Top